Flits 3.1

Discussion about development of draughts in the time of computer and Internet.
Post Reply
Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Flits 3.1

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Mon Jan 04, 2021 19:51

He has a question about the program Flits 3.1. Some time ago, Ed and Bert noticed a bug in Flits. It concerned the base of endings in the program.
Can someone write how to check whether the error still occurs or not. Thank you in advance for any information.

BertTuyt
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 19:42

Re: Flits 3.1

Post by BertTuyt » Mon Jan 04, 2021 20:16

Krzysztof,

it is difficult to check as it occurs randomly.
What happens (to my memory) is that Flits sometimes plays immediately in an endgame position, although there is sufficient clock time.
The move also seem to be random, which sometimes affects the outcome of the game.
You can only notice it when you closely monitor or analyze many Flits games.
I have no idea what the actual frequency is for this case.

Bert

Ed Gilbert
Posts: 829
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 14:53
Real name: Ed Gilbert
Location: Morristown, NJ USA
Contact:

Re: Flits 3.1

Post by Ed Gilbert » Mon Jan 04, 2021 20:23

He has a question about the program Flits 3.1. Some time ago, Ed and Bert noticed a bug in Flits. It concerned the base of endings in the program.
Can someone write how to check whether the error still occurs or not. Thank you in advance for any information.
I have been told by someone who knows that the Flits 3.1 endgame database does have some errors. The only way that I know to avoid this problem is to use the version of Flits that is integrated into latest version of Turbo Dambase. It has been modified to use the kingsrow endgame databases, up to 8 pieces.

-- Ed

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Flits 3.1

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Mon Jan 04, 2021 20:55

BertTuyt wrote:
Mon Jan 04, 2021 20:16
Krzysztof,

it is difficult to check as it occurs randomly.
What happens (to my memory) is that Flits sometimes plays immediately in an endgame position, although there is sufficient clock time.
The move also seem to be random, which sometimes affects the outcome of the game.
You can only notice it when you closely monitor or analyze many Flits games.
I have no idea what the actual frequency is for this case.

Bert
Bert I understand and thank you for the answer.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Flits 3.1

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Mon Jan 04, 2021 20:57

Ed Gilbert wrote:
Mon Jan 04, 2021 20:23
He has a question about the program Flits 3.1. Some time ago, Ed and Bert noticed a bug in Flits. It concerned the base of endings in the program.
Can someone write how to check whether the error still occurs or not. Thank you in advance for any information.
I have been told by someone who knows that the Flits 3.1 endgame database does have some errors. The only way that I know to avoid this problem is to use the version of Flits that is integrated into latest version of Turbo Dambase. It has been modified to use the kingsrow endgame databases, up to 8 pieces.

-- Ed
Ed I check this version from Turbodambase 10.

Post Reply