How to set the clock

Discussion about development of draughts in the time of computer and Internet.
Post Reply
Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 793
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

How to set the clock

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Thu Oct 10, 2019 18:13

I have a question.I invite you to discussion. Imagine a tournament with a time of 5 minutes for 80 moves. How to set the clock to easily make a move on the computer and on the board DGT. Adding 15 seconds to each move is probably not the best move.

jj
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 23:33
Real name: Jan-Jaap van Horssen
Location: Zeist, Netherlands

Re: How to set the clock

Post by jj » Sat Oct 12, 2019 14:20

Do you ask because, in the next tournament, you want to display times for the audience that are better approximations of the internal clocks of both programs?
My estimate is that on average it takes about 3 seconds for an operator to play a move on the board and to press the clock.

Just so I understand: in the tournament (the unofficial WC), did you set all programs to use 5 minutes plus a 3-second increment per move? I noticed that the increment changed to 15 seconds on the second day, but I did not notice a corresponding slowdown of the games. Was the 15-second increment only on the external DGT clock?

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 793
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: How to set the clock

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Sat Oct 12, 2019 14:42

You are right Jan. I am asking not without reason. At the beginning of the tournament there was a time of 5 minutes + 3 seconds and I sent that it would be good. Unfortunately I was wrong. During the game Cerberus 2.3 - Truus voor Windows 1.0 there was a situation that I didn't expect. The clock, if I'm not mistaken, showed for Cerberus 0:00 and later showed Truus voor Windows 1.0 also 0:00. And the game went on. I did not know what to do with it. If I did 5 minutes + 15 seconds, I think it's not good. After the game ended, the clock had times of around 7,8, 9 minutes.

jj
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 23:33
Real name: Jan-Jaap van Horssen
Location: Zeist, Netherlands

Re: How to set the clock

Post by jj » Sat Oct 12, 2019 16:04

Well, there is nothing wrong with that if you use an increment of 3 seconds and the game lasted 80 moves (5 minutes + 80 moves x 3 seconds = 9 minutes).

The question is whether a program actually goes below 0:00. If you want the external clock to be leading and have the possibility that a program loses on time then you need one vigilant operator per program and a qualified referee.

And the programmers/operators need to decide how much operator time to allow for. If this is set to for instance 3 seconds per move, the total increment could be set to 3 + 3 = 6 seconds per move. (So 3 seconds extra to think and 3 seconds for the operator.)

If this is the case then there is an internal time control of 5 min + 3 sec and an external time control of 5 min + 6 sec.

By the way, the DGT clock should be set to count down (from 5 minutes to 0, with increments).

Does this answer your question?

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 793
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: How to set the clock

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Sat Oct 12, 2019 16:55

Hi Jan.

Yes. I think that soon I will do a DGT test and time during some sample time.Time to play 5 minutes + 6 seconds or 8 seconds. I would like to introduce one more thing to the tournament - which I have never written about. :) :) :) I will add that the problem is also with some programs that do not have an opening book. Programs that have an opening book have no problem with the time during the game.

Post Reply