Scan

Discussion about development of draughts in the time of computer and Internet.
Post Reply
Birdy
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:08

Re: Scan

Post by Birdy » Fri Aug 07, 2015 03:19

It would be excelent if Scan has his own user friendly windows GUI ready to go.
It´s not easy to an average user to configure all that stuff under Dam 2.2 or any other GUI.
At least for me... :)
I hope that someone manage that.

Thank you.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:05

Fabien I have a request. Write how to set the option tt-size with 8 GB of RAM. It's about time to 1 minute, 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 20 minutes.

BertTuyt
Posts: 1328
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 19:42

Re: Scan

Post by BertTuyt » Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:33

This weekend I want to compile Scan 2.0 with Visual Studio 2015, so far I was able to activate Scan 1.0 with the provious version of Visual Studio.
I got 2 errors, one related to socket which was also mentioned in this forum.
The other one was in tuple.cpp:

Code: Select all

return bit_t(-bit(sq + 1));
Error	C4146	unary minus operator applied to unsigned type, result still unsigned	Scan20	tuple.cpp	137
Did Rein or Harm see the same error?

Bert

Fabien Letouzey
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 07:48
Real name: Fabien Letouzey

Re: Scan

Post by Fabien Letouzey » Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:51

BertTuyt wrote:

Code: Select all

return bit_t(-bit(sq + 1));
Error	C4146	unary minus operator applied to unsigned type, result still unsigned	Scan20	tuple.cpp	137
Did Rein or Harm see the same error?
Harm showed it to me, but I thought it was only a warning. The compiler is doing its job of trying to detect common mistakes, but that's not the case here. Funnily enough, you can probably silence it by replacing -n with 0 - n.

Fabien Letouzey
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 07:48
Real name: Fabien Letouzey

Re: Scan

Post by Fabien Letouzey » Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:59

Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:Fabien I have a request. Write how to set the option tt-size with 8 GB of RAM. It's about time to 1 minute, 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 20 minutes.
I have no idea, but it shouldn't matter much. I would say 20, 22, 23, 24. I don't remember Ed's suggestions but they are perfectly fine too. I know that Michel spent time experimenting with this in Dragon.

BertTuyt
Posts: 1328
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 19:42

Re: Scan

Post by BertTuyt » Sat Aug 08, 2015 13:11

Fabien, this worked.
Thanks.
Apparently the whole Computer Draughts community is working (despite the good weather) to understand the magic of Scan...

Bert

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:00

Hi Fabien.

I wonder why you do not do Fabien Scan 3.0 version with its own GUI. So to get away from Gui program Dam.

Birdy
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:08

Re: Scan

Post by Birdy » Wed Sep 16, 2015 19:18

Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:Hi Fabien.

I wonder why you do not do Fabien Scan 3.0 version with its own GUI. So to get away from Gui program Dam.
Like i sugested in late August 7, it will be super if some kind soul could manage this.
I think Scan deserves it's own GUI.

Meanwhile, do any of the esteemed members of this forum can post a download link of Scan's ALREADY inside the Dam GUI ?
This way we ALL could enjoy this powerfull software and not only just a few...

Thank you very much.

Fabien Letouzey
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 07:48
Real name: Fabien Letouzey

Re: Scan

Post by Fabien Letouzey » Wed Sep 16, 2015 20:01

Birdy wrote:Like i sugested in late August 7, it will be super if some kind soul could manage this.
I think Scan deserves it's own GUI.
I can only think of Bert, but he's busy. I could add GUIDE support to Scan, but it seemed to me that the GUIs were not fully operational, since they only needed to support a single engine so far. I understood for example that the public Damage GUI has not been updated for a while?

As a matter of comparison, was Horizon integrated to a GUI?

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Wed Sep 16, 2015 20:21

Fabien Letouzey wrote:I can only think of Bert, but he's busy. I could add GUIDE support to Scan, but it seemed to me that the GUIs were not fully operational, since they only needed to support a single engine so far. I understood for example that the public Damage GUI has not been updated for a while?

As a matter of comparison, was Horizon integrated to a GUI?
I am surprised why do not you do the same GUI in Scan.

Fabien Letouzey
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 07:48
Real name: Fabien Letouzey

Re: Scan

Post by Fabien Letouzey » Wed Sep 16, 2015 20:50

Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:I am surprised why do not you do the same GUI in Scan.
Same as what?

You use chess engines, so you know. There are hundreds of engines, but only 10-20 GUIs. And that's a good thing; there is no need for every single engine to have its own GUI.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Wed Sep 16, 2015 21:03

What I mean is you to do own GUI in Scan.

Fabien Letouzey
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 07:48
Real name: Fabien Letouzey

Re: Scan

Post by Fabien Letouzey » Wed Sep 16, 2015 21:26

Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:What I mean is you to do own GUI in Scan.
I did, but it's not easy for you to use; it was designed only for Leiden and me as the user. Maybe you don't realise that a good GUI is at least one year of work.

Rein Halbersma
Posts: 1635
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 16:04
Contact:

Re: Scan

Post by Rein Halbersma » Wed Sep 16, 2015 21:55

Fabien Letouzey wrote:
Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:What I mean is you to do own GUI in Scan.
I did, but it's not easy for you to use; it was designed only for Leiden and me as the user. Maybe you don't realise that a good GUI is at least one year of work.
I have very little knowledge of GUI toolkits, and it would indeed take me a year to write one. But I see people quickly writing awesome GUIs in e.g. Qt (platform independent C++) all the time. Somehow they must be using a different abstraction level than trying to control low-level mouse events etc.

BertTuyt
Posts: 1328
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 19:42

Re: Scan

Post by BertTuyt » Wed Sep 16, 2015 23:02

I have implemented Pipes in the Damage GUI.
So Damage is now able to work via Pipes and Sockets.
I'm able to start from the GUI Scan and redirect the Scan output to the Damage GUI, and vice versa.
I'm working to implement and activate all the Scan Hub commands.
I also (one day) will move to Qt (its now MFC), but as this is really time consuming I need to focus on other things.

Bert

Post Reply