Draughts with Deferred Backwards Capture
A Man may only capture backwards subsequently
, as part of a capture sequence ("deferred backwards capture"). So it cannot capture backwards as immediate move.
Arguably, this would make International Draughts less drawish. The problem with backwards capture is that the defence becomes easy. Although a Man advances, it retains control of squares in the rear. With this new rule, although A Man can also capture backwards, it may only do this later, as part of a series. It means that the defence becomes more difficult. A Man may sneak behind the back of an enemy Man and reach a promotion square. This vouches for a less drawish game(?). Yet, the advanced and interesting combinatorial aspects of International/Polish Draughts are retained. What do you think? Read the article here:http://mlwi.magix.net/bg/draughtsdeferred.htm