Scan

Discussion about development of draughts in the time of computer and Internet.
Post Reply
Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Mon Jul 20, 2015 08:52

Fabien please do versions 3.0 with its own GUI like the Olympics.

Harm Jetten
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 18:17

Re: Scan

Post by Harm Jetten » Mon Jul 20, 2015 10:56

Krzysztof, that is a tricky problem. You could try the following:
Do you have the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC\redist\x64\Microsoft.VC120.CRT ?
If yes, copy the DLL files msvcp120.dll and msvcr120.dll in it to the scan_20 folder.
If no, search for these names in the C:\Windows\system32 directory and copy them to scan_20.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Mon Jul 20, 2015 11:26

Harm Jetten wrote:Krzysztof, that is a tricky problem. You could try the following:
Do you have the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC\redist\x64\Microsoft.VC120.CRT ?
If yes, copy the DLL files msvcp120.dll and msvcr120.dll in it to the scan_20 folder.
If no, search for these names in the C:\Windows\system32 directory and copy them to scan_20.
Harm thanks for the advice. I'll be working on this problem all day. In the folder Scan, have the files msvcp120.dll and msvcr120.dll. Yesterday I did update the browser Internet Explorer 64 bit. The problem partly disappeared, so I decided to update the entire system Windows 7 - update takes.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Mon Jul 20, 2015 21:44

I started program Scan. Unfortunately you can play matches using DXP.

Harm Jetten
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 18:17

Re: Scan

Post by Harm Jetten » Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:22

Krzysztof, by default Scan starts in text mode.
To make it start in DXP mode, you should create a shortcut for scan.exe and add the word dxp to the end of the Target line (Element docelowy).
When Scan starts up, it reads the scan.ini configuration file. For example if you have installed the 5 and 6 piece endgame databases, you need to change bb-size to 6. The DXP settings make Scan wait for an incoming connection. That can be changed too, of course. More details are in the readme.txt file.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:46

Harm Jetten wrote:Krzysztof, by default Scan starts in text mode.
To make it start in DXP mode, you should create a shortcut for scan.exe and add the word dxp to the end of the Target line (Element docelowy).
When Scan starts up, it reads the scan.ini configuration file. For example if you have installed the 5 and 6 piece endgame databases, you need to change bb-size to 6. The DXP settings make Scan wait for an incoming connection. That can be changed too, of course. More details are in the readme.txt file.
Thank you very much Harm. Harm as you please answer more questions.

1. What to do to program the Scan 2.0 started playing parties white color.
2. How to put on example the time of party 60 minute on 80 moves.
3. To resume when the party is the end of the game.
4. Does the program Scan 2.0 supports GUI Dam 2.2.7.

Harm Jetten
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 18:17

Re: Scan

Post by Harm Jetten » Tue Jul 21, 2015 13:22

I assume that you leave the dxp settings in scan.ini unchanged.
When you run Scan in DXP mode, it will say 'waiting for a connection'.

Then start the GUI. For the following I assume Dam 2.2.
Choose menu Game - DamExchange - Make connection.
Enter the computername where Scan is running (or leave blank if it is on the same computer), then OK.
You will see FD_CONNECT in the DamExchange window (and Scan says 'connection established').

If you wish to enter the moves yourself, leave the Move setting at Player-Player.
If you want to play an automatic game of Dam 2.2 against Scan, choose Move - Player-Computer.

Choose menu Game - New.
Or instead of a new game, you could set up a position on the board and then do Game - DamExchange - Start game.
In either case, a dialog will appear where you enter how many moves in how many minutes to play, and what color Dam 2.2 should play. Scan will play the other color.

After completing the game, start the next game with menu Game - New.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Tue Jul 21, 2015 14:17

Thank you very much Harm. It's all I know.

Krzysztof Grzelak
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak

Re: Scan

Post by Krzysztof Grzelak » Tue Jul 21, 2015 14:56

Harm been checking out it works feature in Scan 2.0 - hyper-threading.

borg
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 20:25

Re: Scan

Post by borg » Tue Jul 21, 2015 20:36

Hi
great program
I managed to compile in linux.
But can run only using one thread
getting this message "Enable multithreading to use std::thread: Operation not permitted"
It looks like problem in the makefile
Thanks again

Fabien Letouzey
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 07:48
Real name: Fabien Letouzey

Re: Scan

Post by Fabien Letouzey » Tue Jul 21, 2015 20:45

borg wrote:getting this message "Enable multithreading to use std::thread: Operation not permitted"
It looks like problem in the makefile
It rings a bell. Something like "-pthread" instead of "-lpthread"!

nufje
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 14:16
Real name: Toby Hage

Re: Scan

Post by nufje » Thu Jul 23, 2015 11:35

Hello,

Thank you for providing this program.
I also get the error: Enable multithreading to use std::thread: Operation not permitted

I have compiled the program again with:

LIBS = -lm -pthread

instead of:

LIBS = -lm -lpthread

There is no difference :-(
In the scan.ini file i have

threads = 1

How can i solve this?

Harm Jetten
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 18:17

Re: Scan

Post by Harm Jetten » Thu Jul 23, 2015 12:11

From a Google search I get the impression that it's a bug in gcc 4.8.
There is mention of a workaround.
Try to make the Makefile section look like this:

Code: Select all

# general

CXX      = g++
# CXXFLAGS = 
LDFLAGS  = -L. -Wl,--no-as-needed -pthread
LIBS     = -lm -lpthread

Fabien Letouzey
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 07:48
Real name: Fabien Letouzey

Re: Scan

Post by Fabien Letouzey » Thu Jul 23, 2015 12:25

nufje wrote:I also get the error: Enable multithreading to use std::thread: Operation not permitted
In case Harm's solution doesn't work either, also add -pthread to the compilation options ; it's not just a library any longer.

Harm Jetten
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 18:17

Re: Scan

Post by Harm Jetten » Thu Jul 23, 2015 12:40

The link-time optimization option is present (-flto), so it might be good to add -O2 to the LDFLAGS as well.

Post Reply