World Draughts Forum

It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 17:52

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 162 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 11 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 19:08 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 16:28
Posts: 55
Real name: Coulibaly Sidiki
Hi Ed,

I understood, for quick match i will set the hashtable to 32 Mb.
My computer is a core duo so 2 core.
I will take now a low Ram setting with Kingsrow to avoid this kind of errors. Thankagain for all.

Sidiki.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 13:07 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 22:24
Posts: 128
Real name: Catherine Bourneuf
Hi all,

I coming toward you, to, firstly give to wish you some good and happy christmas.
Secondly, i tried without success to do a dxp game between Scan and Truus.
Someone can help me please? Thank.
Catherine.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 21:06 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 14:53
Posts: 726
Real name: Ed Gilbert
Location: Morristown, NJ USA
I haven't run truus or the truus dxp server in several years, but it should work with scan. There are several details you have to set correctly to start a match. I'll list a few that I can remember.

The truus dxp server can only act as a server, not a client, so you have to set scan to be the client. In scan.ini set dxp-server = false.

The truus dxp server can only act as a DXP Follower, not an Initiator, therefore in scan.ini set dxp-initiator = true.

There is no way for the truus dxp server to control time settings in truus, therefore you need to set up the number of moves and game time in truus before starting and instruct truus to save the settings. Then set your time control settings in scan.ini. I think truus does not allow game time to be less than 300 seconds (you set this in minutes in scan.ini).

I assume you're running on a 32-bit PC since you asked for a 32-bit scan executable. If that is the case you probably will not be able to run scan with the 6-piece endgame database and still have enough memory for truus. Set bb-size = 5 in scan.ini.

-- Ed


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 17:15 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 22:24
Posts: 128
Real name: Catherine Bourneuf
Hi Ed,

Thank very much for your help, effectivly, i'am using a 32 bits OS. I will do like you wrote.
Thank again Ed and God bless you!!!
Catherine.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 19:58 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Posts: 558
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak
Bert can I You ask correctly GUI Damage under the program Scan. I mean the program to properly save the batch entry.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:47 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Posts: 558
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak
I have a question as to the DXP program Scan. Please write how to set the file Scan. ini so that the program respond to the movement of every second or two seconds using DXP.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 18:14 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 14:53
Posts: 726
Real name: Ed Gilbert
Location: Morristown, NJ USA
Krzysztof Grzelak wrote:
I have a question as to the DXP program Scan. Please write how to set the file Scan. ini so that the program respond to the movement of every second or two seconds using DXP.

That is not a dxp function. The only time control in dxp is game time in minutes and number of moves.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 18:40 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 17:16
Posts: 558
Real name: Krzysztof Grzelak
Ed Gilbert wrote:
That is not a dxp function. The only time control in dxp is game time in minutes and number of moves.
Thanks for the reply Ed.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 21:01 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 20:49
Posts: 1
Real name: Delatour
Hello, bonjour,

I have windows xp pro x64 sp2.
When I start the executalbe scan, I get an error message saying it is not a valid win32 application.

I tried to compile the source with mingW 32/64 bits but I get several error messages about c++2011 standard.

Can you help me ?

Thank you.

NB : no problem with linux ubuntu 14.04. Scan and Hub work well with JRE.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:45 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 07:48
Posts: 236
Real name: Fabien Letouzey
Hi,

Francis_I wrote:
I tried to compile the source with mingW 32/64 bits but I get several error messages about c++2011 standard.

Your compiler does not support C++11 threads. Maybe this helps (from http://wiki.qt.io/MinGW-64-bit):

---
GCC Threading model (posix vs win32)
Mingw-Builds (and the experimental rubenvb packages) also let you choose between the threading model internally used by (lib)gcc:

posix (built upon MinGW-w64's winpthreads)
"an implementation of POSIX threads for win32 is also available under the experimental directory. Its main goal is to support C+11 standard threading, which supports only using POSIX threads at the moment." http://mingw-w64.sourceforge.net/
enables C11 library features contained in the headers <thread>, <mutex>, and <future>.
Performance degradation in specific scenarios. C11 functionality is significantly slower than native Win32 implementation or even MSVS2012's implementation.
win32
uses native Win32 threading functions.
no C11 <thread>, <mutex>, or <future>
best performance
More reading: http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/mess ... d=28014658
---

Fabien.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:50 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:08
Posts: 35
Real name: J. Silva
Hello friends!

Can someone kindly make a compilation for Scan to work on a 32-bit system?
I'm making the same request do MobyDam engine.

Thank you very much.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 13:51 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 14:53
Posts: 726
Real name: Ed Gilbert
Location: Morristown, NJ USA
Birdy wrote:
Hello friends!

Can someone kindly make a compilation for Scan to work on a 32-bit system?
I'm making the same request do MobyDam engine.

Thank you very much.

See these 2 posts earlier in this thread:
http://laatste.info/bb3/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=6786&start=105#p113774
http://laatste.info/bb3/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=6786&start=90#p113527


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 14:40 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:08
Posts: 35
Real name: J. Silva
Ed Gilbert wrote:
Birdy wrote:
Hello friends!

Can someone kindly make a compilation for Scan to work on a 32-bit system?
I'm making the same request do MobyDam engine.

Thank you very much.

See these 2 posts earlier in this thread:
http://laatste.info/bb3/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=6786&start=105#p113774
http://laatste.info/bb3/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=6786&start=90#p113527

Thank you Mr. Gilbert.
Some time ago i tried one of the solutions, wich i'm afraid it didn't work. Can't remember wich...
But i'll try again both of them, following carefully the posted steps.
Then i'll give the results no matter what.
Thank's again.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 15:08 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 14:53
Posts: 726
Real name: Ed Gilbert
Location: Morristown, NJ USA
I should add that this 32-bit scan executable will probably not run on XP. It is compiled with VS2015 which does not support building XP executables with its default installation. There is a way to install the XP toolset support, but I have not done it.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Scan
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 17:35 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:08
Posts: 35
Real name: J. Silva
Ed Gilbert wrote:
I should add that this 32-bit scan executable will probably not run on XP. It is compiled with VS2015 which does not support building XP executables with its default installation. There is a way to install the XP toolset support, but I have not done it.

Mr. Gilbert you nailed it.
In fact i'm using Win XP (32-bit, 2 GB RAM) and according to my research even old free Visual Studio versions requires 4 GB of RAM... :(
My knowledge in this area is very weak but something tells me that I am facing an impossible mission.
Oh well, let me say THANK YOU once more and who knows? Maybe someone can figure out a way to make MobyDam and Scan compatible for Windows XP 32-bit...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 162 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 11 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited